KopTalk users who have kicked the habit

by Rupert Insider

images-1.jpg

From Croatia

Please could you help me about refund of membership at Koptalk?

Unfortunately I’ve seen your site too late, but I must admit that you have shown some good stuff.

__________________________________________________

From Hungary

well done Rupert! i am former koptalk member and you opened my eyes, so please keep doing the great work! i really hope koptalk will disappear as soon as possible!!!

____________________________________________________

From Malaysia

…someone trying to defend koptalk with the logic of..if u enjoy the forums, it’s money well spent.. and hard luck for anyone who feels ripped off..

you may say that your able to take the losses and everything.. but for some of us especially students.. this amounts to a significant amount of money..

i am from malaysia.. in my country.. 30 quid would amount to around 200 ringgit in my country.. and this is quite a lot ..that could pay for half of my expenses in one month.

i would expect.. my money’s worth.. with all koptalk claiming that they have insider information..only recently my brother and me were pondering whether to take up a subscription..but thankfully for this blog..i’ve decided against it..

for all the comments on the blog being unhealthy obsessions and all..well it’s not like the blog is trying to disrupt your lives..i agree with the objective of it..to warn unwary users.. especially from other parts of the world..i can’t fathom.. why anyone would say this blog is sad, hateful, unhealthy obsession etc..it’s just a normal reaction for people who have felt aggrieved by koptalk.. and i feel.. that every liverpool fans (Liverpool and OOTs alike) have an obligation to other fans.. to inform them and avoid dunk conning them out of their hard earned money

koptalk claims that it provides a service for 30pounds..it is within everyone’s right to expect the site to deliver on all their claims..especially the ones regarding having an inside source in anfield..so.. if he has given substandard service..he is accountable to it..finally..i would like to say thanks for the info..keep up the good work..

______________________________________________________

From Spain

Hi all, first post. Current KT member letting the sub expire, what a waste of money!

The censorship on there is getting unreal. Fatman started a thread saying “Updates coming up” and after a while a few posters asked were these updates where. Finally a few bits of old news was put up on the site and a few posters asked if that was it, it’s that all etc etc… And boom the thread is deleted as Dunk steps in with his big hammer.

______________________________________________

From Liverpool

Was just thinking exactly the same thing myself! I’ve been disillusioned with KT for some time now and have been noticing the threads disappearing on a regular basis!.

Been reading the blog now for some weeks, and have read all of it from start to finish. I thought I’d give fatty and his sidekick a chance to prove the blog wrong but everything mentioned on here rings true. £30 for info from members that really have no idea what they are talking about, while fat boy swans off to Spain to watch Valencia play! who cares!!!

It’s just lie after lie, then some more lies to cover the lies. Quite a vicious circle, and they are becoming more and more obvious!!

___________________________________________

From Greater London

What a load of crap.. Shall not be renewing.

___________________________________________

From Yorkshire

I’ve had it with KopTalk i think. There’s no way in the whole world i’ll be renewing my membership. The guy seems to be playing up with us with all those news items which i’ve already read off newsnow. The number of posts has gone down soooooo much. Koptalk is dying – and if all the allegations against the people running it is true, I hope it dies sooner rather than later.

_________________________________________________

From Liverpool

As an ex-Koptalker, I applaud this exposee. I joined KT as it looked like a decent forum and news site, based on it’s ‘Newsnow’ links. I quickly discovered that there was absolutely no foundation for any ‘Insider’ links whatsoever. If there was, Torres, Villa, Ronaldinho, Henry, Zidane etc etc would all be playing for us now. Additionally, there is no free speech on the forums, it’s toe the line or die. I’d urge anyone to avoid paying money to join KT. There are plenty of free sites, as detailed on here, that are managed better, and feature more ‘in the know’ posters. Good site, there should be more of these on the web.

________________________________________

From Eire

I’m not saying that I’m going to leave Koptalk or anything because I do enjoy talking to the people on it, even Dunk! I am starting to believe some of the things on your site though, so after my years subscription is up I hear more things about him that I believe I will leave the site.

____________________________________________

From USA via Eire

I’m originally from Dublin and now live on the west coast of the USA.

Gotta say i enjoy your blog, keep it up.

I had been using koptalk as a ‘source’ for probably 8 years now, on and off.

I never got a membership, I was just a lurker as they say. Was annoyed when they went to a subscription basis and stopped looking. I stumbled onto you guys doing a searech one day.

It use to amaze me how this guy always claimed he knew or had contacts that knew what was going on behind closed doors at Anfield. I put it down to the fact that since he had so many fans on his site the club were pretty much held hostage to him and treated him with kid gloves. At least that is the impression I had (living in the US, explains it to some degree).

On this basis I did believe he actually had some contacts.

On top of that he would always come across like he had his priorities right, family number one and all that. And the whole thing about him just getting by but loving the club.

The you would see things like the fun raiser for Lauren……you felt sorry but at the same time it felt like you were in a bar and a collection was being taken up for so and so’s relative….almost like your were oblidged to give. (Not that I did), for me that was the first sign of a red flag. The first sign of treating your members with contempt.

I’m not adverse to giving to causes but I hate it when I’m taking advantage of by way of association.

Anyway, koptalk is not a site I visit anymore, maybe just a peek now and again for laughs and seeing what the master scammer is dreaming up this time.

Success to the men in the real red kit for 07~08 and keep hounding that ass.

cheers

John

12 Responses to “KopTalk users who have kicked the habit”

  1. Koptalksucks.com Says:

    “The you would see things like the fun raiser for Lauren……you felt sorry but at the same time it felt like you were in a bar and a collection was being taken up for so and so’s relative….almost like your were oblidged to give. (Not that I did), for me that was the first sign of a red flag. The first sign of treating your members with contempt.”

    I can remember one time Dunk posted up a list of people who hadn’t contributed to the Lauren collection or who had pledged money but not paid yet. That certainly made me uncomfortable and your right when you say he almost made people feel like that had to contribute.

  2. Unhappy insider subscriber Says:

    What a load of crap.. Shall not be renewing.

  3. Flagpole Corner Says:

    the days of koptalk appear to be numbered with more and more members leaving every day if these comments are anything to go by.

    doing really well on exposing con-talk there rupert, keep up the good work mate

  4. Tubby Says:

    The undertaker has been notified.

  5. Ian Says:

    The undertaker has been notified.
    Serious!! Bong.

  6. kraptalk addict Says:

    John,

    Do you live in Portland by any chance?

  7. chapeau du soleil Says:

    >> I can remember one time Dunk posted up a list of people who hadn’t contributed to the Lauren collection

    Ye gods, is that true???

  8. Mister Triple Whammy Says:

    I’ve had it with KopTalk i think. There’s noway in the whole world i’ll be renewing my membership. The guy seems to be playing up with us with all those news items which i’ve already read off newsnow. The number of posts has gone down soooooo much. Koptalk is dying – and if all the allegations against the people running it is true, I hope it dies sooner rather than later.

  9. sospanred Says:

    I’m ever an optimist, but this feels like a tipping point…

  10. scousenproud Says:

    mister triple whammy, post a negative thread saying what you said here and get banned, people here will get you a refund.

  11. rupertinsider Says:

    Thursday

    I have added two more comments to the post – if you have not read them.

    One from Hungary and one from Malaysia and the latter really goes to the heart of what the blog is about.

    May I just add that 30 quid would amount to a week’s wages 6.5 days x 8-9 hour days in central america.

  12. lfc_michael Says:

    One of the most deplorable aspects of Oldham’s con is, without a doubt, the fact that his site’s pariah status amongst match-going fans results in the majority of his victims being from overseas, where they have little opportunity to pursue him.

    The comment from the Malaysian correspondant really brought home for me how worthwhile the whole endeavour is. As a British student, losing £30 might mean the inconvenience of sacrificing a couple of nights in the pub; for someone in a poorer country, Koptalk’s fee may be duping them out of a sum that affects their standard of living. Not that he cares.


Leave a Reply

