LFC fans complain about credit-card rip-off

by Rupert Insider

We continue to receive letters and comments from LFC supporters to the effect that PayPal accounts (usually funded by credit cards) are being ripped-off by Koptalk. And we see similar comments on other sites with sizable concentrations of ex-Koptalk users – such as Est 1892 and The Liverpool Way.

Here are a couple of examples:

_________________

  1. Bob Says:
    November 6th, 2006 at 2:44 pm Anyone ever tried to get their subscription canceled? I had no idea that my payment from paypal was on a subscription basis, and when payment was taken I wrote to Koptalk (logged a support call) asking them to refund the money as I no longer had any interest in the site.After three weeks and no response, I wrote again…. lo, and behold, weeks passed and still no response! I even logged another support call.So my advice to you all is that you cancel your koptalk subscription within paypal, and don’t fall into the same trap as me.

_____________________________

email published with permission of the author

October 26th
From: “Icelander”

Here’s my little story:

I joined KopTalk somtime in 2004, was always a lurker, made maybe 10 posts while I was a member. I really enjoyed the site the first months, I was hungry for LFC news because they are very limited where I live (Iceland). Gradually I began to smell something “fishy” in KT; constant changes with “member clubs”, weird editorials by Dunk and a few times I witnessed pure “fasist” censorship 🙂

I wasn’t going to renew my subsription after one year but it got renewed automatically. I was not going to let that happen again (auto renewal) so I disabled my PayPal account when the KopTalk subscription was due(now in sept 2006). Then I got an email from Steve, asking me to contact KT because of my subscription.

I didn’t contact them, and few days later I got shut out from the site. And now the best part, one week after I was shut out, I recieved a “Happy Birthday” card from KT, signed: “Dunk + all at koptalk”, hahaha, and my birthday is not even close.

As I’ve now found out the truth about KT and Dunk (through your excellent blog), I see this birthday-card buisness in another light. KT is obviously desperate for subscriptions!

Well, keep up the good work!

PS Yes, it was too bad I wasn’t able to cancel the PayPal subscription in time, but that was then, and now I’m ‘free’ from KT 🙂

As I said, I’m the typical ‘lurker’, just enjoy reading the discussions, seldomly participate. Now I’m using est1892.co.uk and sometimes I read the official site, not an e-season member there though! It’s great to see so many of the ‘old’ posters from KT on est1892, but I miss the posts from ‘El Matajo’, they always made me smile 🙂

___________________

Perhaps its time for the blog to re-publish an earlier reminder for those who did not see it the first time?

 

Don’t Let Koptalk Pick-Pocket PayPal.

September 8th, 2006

by Rupert Insider

pickpockets.JPG
Several dissatisfied former members of the KopTalk Gold Club and the Insider have reported that KopTalk has activated their PayPal account to extract an additional year’s subscriptions.

This has happened even to people whose access to Koptalk has been arbitrarily denied by the owner, Duncan Oldham, as well as to some who did not wish to renew their subscriptions.

Anyone who paid by PayPal in the past should check their account now. If Koptalk has extracted payments by means of the automatic renewal feature, you could complain to PayPal, making clear that Koptalk did not provide the service that you paid for – or citing whatever other reason you have for not wanting to renew. Make it a one-liner because PayPal is highly automated. You could ask PayPal to recover your money. If sufficient people complain to PayPal they may suspend or cancel Koptalk’s account.

To avoid this Koptalk may provide refunds. You should demand a refund from Koptalk and keep a copy of your correspondence.

Apparently, many did not realise that Koptalk set up the original PayPal subscription format so that it renewed automatically.

You can check your PayPal account and cancel the automatic renewal feature as follows:

Go to your PayPal account and log in.

Go to My Account

Go to History

Go to Show Menu

Go to Subscriptions

Go to Transaction Details

Select Cancel

Following the cancellation you should receive a confirmation email from PayPal. It will look something like this:

Dear *******

You have successfully cancelled your subscription to Gold Club Renewal – 1 year.

You will not be invoiced for this Subscription again.

Cancellation Details

Cancellation Date: 6th September 2006
Subscription Name: Gold Club Renewal – 1 year
Subscription number: ***************
Contact Information
If you have any questions about this subscription, please contact KOPTALK.COM

Business name: KOPTALK.COM

Contact email: support@koptalk.com

Contact Phone: +449050280723

Thank you for using PayPal

The PayPal team.

CREDIT CARD PAYMENTS

It is not certain that all those who paid by credit card are safe. If the original invoice sought authorisation for automatic renewal then it is possible that Koptalk could submit this authorisation to your credit card company without notifying you.

Bank Payments

Anyone who paid by a direct deposit from their bank account, should check that they have not left a standing annual order to pay for a Gold Club or Insider renewal.

ronmoody11.JPGI gotta picka a pocket or two, boys, I gotta picka pocket or two.”

 

3 Responses to “LFC fans complain about credit-card rip-off”

  1. Norman Porter Says:

    Thanks for the warning regarding KopTalk subscriptions. I had not realised but have cancelled today (6 November 2006) – just in time. Keep up the good work.

  2. Chunka Says:

    Loving the Koptalk style headline, this one will surely get the top-spot on newsnow

  3. Jabba Says:

    Fuck me, those bastards had set up a renewal on my paypal.
    Canceled it promptly, not renewing with that crowd ever again…
    Thank you!


Leave a Reply

