Dunk made a promise

Thanks to one of our blog readers who sent me one of Dunk’s editorials from the past. In it he makes a promise we hope he’s going to keep, but we expect as ever he’ll deny it and wriggle out of it.

We think we should hold him to it. He said –

In fact I’m going to make a promise which will be welcomed by many. If there’s no finance secured by the opening day of the season, I’m going to hang up my keyboard and close KOPTALK down. I’ll see that the Gold Club and Insider features plus the forums at koptalk.com/forums remain online and operational but as far as my involvement goes, forget it. Maybe then I could get me book out and shut a few people up!” 

Trying to work out when it was from, we followed a link to the “next” article on his site, which was this –

Liverpool FC confirm investment talks – more to follow

Liverpool Football Club have issued a statement confirming that they are holding talks with potential investors.

A statement issued by the board read:  “The board of Liverpool FC has noted the recent press speculation concerning possible third-party investment into the club and can confirm that it is continuing discussions with a number of parties regarding a potential investment of new funds into the club.

“Although the structure of any such investment is uncertain, it may include an offer for the entire share capital of the club. Shareholders will be kept updated as appropriate.”

Now is a good time to be an Insider member…. if you’re not an Insider member and you don’t want to support us or can’t, just read yesterday’s editorial by Dunk and look out for fresh updates later today.

We’re miles ahead of the media on this one and we know exactly who wants in. Do you?

http://www.koptalkinsider.coN”

I’ve worked the date out of the article after searching for those quotes, which also appeared on the LFC website, in the mediawatch section, dated March 29th 2006. Click here.

So should we class today as the start of the season, with the first competitive fixture? Or this weekend’s Community Shield, as the first domestic fixture? Or should we be really kind, and let him wait for the Sheffield United fixture, the first league fixture of the season? Let’s be kind – Dunk, you’re allowed to keep Koptalk until we kick off against Sheffield United. But, no investment by then = no website.

Dunk’s article had THREE links to the Insider welcome pages in it. THREE! How many people reading the blog today remember this story? Worse still remember it actually being the reason they joined the Insider site? Of course you now know it was all bullshit, but did you even suspect it then?

The “editorial” he refers to was the one sent to me including that promise.Have a read –

Why I stayed in my LFC bed (ED)

Having a matching Liverpool FC bed set at the age of 31 is probably a bit sad to some people, but when I looked at the clock this morning and saw it was 9am, I loved every inch (or should that be yard!) of it when I rolled back over safe in the knowledge that my Sky+ system would record ‘Trisha’ for me.

I was dreaming of winning the title…

I knew that madness would break today on the financial front. Like clockwork, Steve was calling and texting me telling to get my arse into KOPTALK HQ. Balls to that. Investment stuff bores me senseless. It has become such a long running saga that I could throttle anyone that brings the subject up.

In fact I’m going to make a promise which will be welcomed by many. If there’s no finance secured by the opening day of the season, I’m going to hang up my keyboard and close KOPTALK down. I’ll see that the Gold Club and Insider features plus the forums at koptalk.com/forums remain online and operational but as far as my involvement goes, forget it. Maybe then I could get me book out and shut a few people up!

I’ve been doing this lark for too long now. It’s boring. I sat down with the Mrs last night and said I was sick of it. She was like, “Well what would you do, you’ll be bored?” and yeh, I guess I would but surely there’s more to life than sat typing away all day. It’s funny because on my keyboard i have no letters that spell out LIVERPOOL because they’re used that much lol!

Contrary to what critics may suggest, KOPTALK isn’t run to make a profit. I’d be better off financially if I didn’t have this round my neck. It’s just a hobby t hat got out of hand. Do I need the hassle? The thought of never knowing anything about the club again would be like a dream come true for me. I’d love to go back to just reading yesterday’s news in a paper.

There’s some great Reds out there but there’s also some real loons too. Maybe it’s an age thing? I dunno. You see a username on the forums and they could be 14 or 40. It’s difficult sometimes working out why some Reds can be so stupid. Are they just thick or just young?

Take this finance stuff again. For example, people are obsessed with figures. It’s just not that simple. We’re talking long term strategic plans. It’s not good saying “Here’s £50m Rafa, go spend it”. If clubs think we have money, we’ll get ripped off. If we spend it but don’t earn another £50m, we’re back in the same situation again.

For me, it’s about the people at the top. It’s about injecting some youthful ideas in to the club with a blend of proven marketing experience. It’s not about handing over an open cheque book to Rafa because whoever comes in, that is not going to happen and I don’t want it to happen.

There’s also the issue of the new stadium. People are assuming that potential investors have that covered as part of what they’re bringing to the table and this may not be the case. Don’t jump to conclusions.

Personally I’d rather see the two kept separate. For me the ideal scenario would be an investor, a shake-up at the top of the club and someone else brought in to pay for stadium naming rights. Throw in some marketing brains and we’re laughing. I don’t want one person or group to buy into the club and to also have some ownership of the stadium. I think that’d be dodgy.

You may have noticed that all week updates have started later than they normally do. This is because I’m knackered, bored and because I know all the finance stuff was set to crop up even though Rick Parry recently claimed there was nothing around the corner.

On Friday I’m taking the afternoon off. I’m going horse racing with the lads for the first time in ages. I can’t wait to let me hair down… ****, I haven’t got any… well you know what I mean. I’m just glad it’s a 5.15pm kick-off on Saturday. Join me on KOPTALK RADIO for the match as I’m sure the issue of investment will be heavily debated!!!

It’s 11.40am now. I’ve injected some coffee and I’m about to do some graft. Then this afternoon I’ll try and inform our Insider members just exactly what the **** is happening!

I’ve imported the blog post where we covered his insider nonsense (it was on another blog hosting provider). You can view it here https://koptalkinsider.wordpress.com/2006/03/29/oh_lordy/ – but it’s quite a long one.

So come on Dunk – who are you handing it all over to? I’ll buy it off you for 10p and a maxi-size bag of Walkers. And that will save you the hassle, as you say (above), “Contrary to what critics may suggest, KOPTALK isn’t run to make a profit. I’d be better off financially if I didn’t have this round my neck. ”  So take my bag of crisps and 10p and everyone’s happy. You lose the burden, Liverpool FC get their Kop back.

10 Responses to “Dunk made a promise”

  1. est-er Says:

    I thought he was writing his own Duncan Mitty Exploits for a second.

    Haha! What a loon he is. He would never back out of a promise, would he?

  2. barry wom Says:

    Insider – bad news mate. I reckon he’s already hung up his keyboard. He’s handed over the editors role to young Steve . He’s just an executive editor now ensuring the gold club keeps going 🙂

    btw, aren’t executives the same as “suits”. doesn’t dunk hate the suits?

  3. Chunky Says:

    Funny as fuck back then – he was claiming Rafa would have a £30-40m budget, Tit.

  4. hoff Says:

    I do love reading Dunk’s ranting editorials.

    The one’s i most enjoy are when he threatens to shut down KopTalk because it’s all too much for him. I also enjoy it when he states he’s had enough of the free site and Insider and he’s going to reduce KopTalk to a limited number Gold Club only website.

  5. lobster Says:

    The thing is, his site is essentially made up of forums, so by saying he would only be keeping the gold club and forums online if theres no finance before season starts, means he is keeping his site alive anyway.

  6. rupertinsider Says:

    I hear he has answered God’s call and is going to do missionry work on a leper island in the South Pacific.

  7. lobster Says:

    after that he will fulfill his childhood dream of living in the wild with his cousins (hippos) in africa…………..what a life dunk, what a life!!

  8. TW Says:

    I remember that post. That post was probably the last time that I took the S*n Lover seriously. I don’t know if you found out when that was, but I would guess that it was probabably late May or early June. You’ll probably remember how he kept going on about the importance of the month of May and yada yada. I think that post was one of maybe 3 in which he slowly retracted the May date and started to push it back. All the stuff that he kept claiming was going to happen re: investment gradually became more and more bullshit and it became so obvious that either he didnt know what he was talking about or he was simply making it up.

    Before I discovered this site, I had already decided not to renew, because I suspected that he didnt know anything; now I know that he doesn’t.

  9. BYDFTI Says:

    OMG! How weird is this! I have that exact editorial saved in my bookmarks and was about to e-mail to insider, when I thought, “ill just check the blog…..” and lo and behold see this article!! WEIRD!! But a guess what they say is true….great minds…..

  10. Steven Says:

    I laughed when I read that too!

    Oh well to think I was about to renew my membership!

    Does anyone remember the Beckham to Liverpool rumours doing the rounds a few seasons ago?


Leave a Reply

