Pop-ups stop us all from finding out insider information

I think this article needs very little comment from me. Some of the long-term observers of Dunk will see a lot of familiar stuff in here. My only comment is that this executive editor with all of his technology sounds like he’s a victim of his own mega-popups. Try typing it up in Word first Dunk. Then use cut and paste (our favourite). You don’t fall victim to those ads of yours then.

Dunk   Executive Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8921
Loc: KOPTALK
Aggressive take-over attempt ditched – transfer stuff soon
#1584951 – Wed Aug 02 2006 03:03 PM          Reply      Quote

I spent an hour earlier today typing up a news item that detailed a planned attempt to oust David Moores from Anfield that had been scrapped and then my broswer crashed. I will do my best to find the motivation to start it again later today.

My dog died last night so I’ve got a blinding headache but I’ll try and get the report on later. It will also be on KOPTALK.COM

Basically it’s just touching on the snippets I’ve dropped recently with some quotes from those involved (although they won’t go on the record officially). I can’t do anything about that so you can make your own minds up about their claims, my claims if you like but I’m just the messenger.

On the transfer front I posted in the Gold Club earlier today that I wouldn’t expect anything to start happening again until later this week or next week. Obviously we’re out of the country at the moment but Rick Parry has been working.

All I’ve got for you at the moment is finance stuff. I hate it so please don’t expect much enthusiasm from me.

On the real level – the one we’re only bothered out in reality (success on the pitch) – I do feel very confident that we will be close this year. Every summer I try to be upbeat but privately I’ve never had much confidence since I started the site back in the 90’s. This summer though I have every confidence in Rafa but I really do believe we must sign a striker at least. It is this difference in the squad that we need. We must not miss out on the extra addition(s) like we did last year, that would have made a bigger difference.

The stuff I will publish later today re: investment won’t be very positive towards the chairman. I can’t make something sound good for the sake of it and I wouldn’t anyway. My own opinions won’t come into it so please remember that I’m a big fan of David Moores as a person and I know he wants to succeed. People that want in have time for him also so I guess it’s down to you as the individual fan as to what you want.

Do you want a trophy just about every year such as the FA Cup or League Cup or do you want to be winning more. I hope you know what I mean by that.

Do we plod on as we are or do we accept the money that’s there, build a new stadium and give Rafa more?

Personally I find it hard because I like Moores, I like the stadium we’re at (even though I know we must advance like Arsenal and United) and with Rafa I believe he can do things much cheaper than others as was proven in 2005. On the other hand a new stadium, some new life in the board room and more money for Rafa is a nice thought but in reality will a shake-up guarantee more success or is it just about marketing.

Do you see why I hate it? It mashes my head.

Anyway I’ll try and get some stuff out later today.

If he’s got information why can’t he provide it to those who’ve paid for it? It won’t take long to retype it in for someone who’s been sat on his computer 16 hours a day, 7 days a week, for the last eight years.

Someone has already mentioned this next bit in the comments…

Dunk
Executive Editor

Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8921
Loc: KOPTALK

Gonzalez interview
#1585178 – Wed Aug 02 2006 04:46 PM          Reply      Quote

Great interview and feature in 442 magazine (Sept 2006). I can’t scan and post it as the feds will bust me and throw away the keys.. just thought I’d mention it. We’ll review it on the podcast this evening.
– – – – – – – –

Despite always claiming he’s not bothered about the blog and laughing at his abuse of others’ copyright, he’s worried about ripping the article off. But if you’re warming the scanner up Dunk, why not scan those season tickets? (Because he hasn’t got any). Or the latest Lotto tickets and Pools entries? (Because there aren’t any).

71 Responses to “Pop-ups stop us all from finding out insider information”

  1. Robbie Says:

    Talklfc not “Talk Fc”
    There are between 30 and 50 members on talklfc today mate…

  2. Paul.S Says:

    The “Who’s Online” system on our boards refresh every 60 seconds 😉

    If it was changed to 30 minutes, it would be a LOT higher 😉

  3. Tom Says:

    Robbie:

    well if there were only 16 (I’m guessing you DID CHECK the culiminative stats at the bottom of the site right?) that’s unusual – cos in the last couple of weeks there’s been an average of well over a hundred.

  4. rupertinsider Says:

    There were 6 of whom three were active . I suppose the other three were passive.

  5. Paul.S Says:

    Right, we should be back online within the hour.

    It won’t be 100%, but the forums will be back. Just needs some further fiddling, then some of the bits need putting back in place. All this timing is really bad, as I’m also working on me new house! Doh!

    – Paul

  6. rupertinsider Says:

    Robbie: In view of your correction, I just went back to Talkfc and this is what it says:

    ________________________________________________
    Currently Active Users: 5 (2 members and 3 guests)
    View Who’s Online
    Most users ever online was 242, 21-04-2005 at 21:51.
    rupert, ChelseaDave
    __________________________________________________

    So it was me and ChelesaeDave and since I was there only to check up on your statement that there were betwene 30 and 50, I don’t count. Throw in the two guests and the total was 5, down from the 6 I reported earlier.

    Perhaps I am looking at a different part of the site than you?

    Anyway, it might help that thsi blog has now added your site to the list on on the right of the page.

  7. Robbie Says:

    Forget it, not that serious.
    On Talklfc there is a list of members at the bottom of the page. Right now there are 42 users in the Talklfc forum.

  8. Robbie Says:

    Talklfc not talkfc FFS!!

  9. Whois Lookup Says:

    Talk LFC is a very good site run by good people and was a very welcome addition when set up

  10. An Observer Says:

    60 seconds Paul?

    How come you changed it from vB’s 15 minute default?

  11. Insider Insider Says:

    Yes – I’ve added Talk LFC to the list of LFC sites to the right – I don’t know how I missed it, but I did and I apologise.

    I’ve not got a “Steve” to blame it on.

    If I’ve missed any more just let me know and I’ll add them.

  12. paulcooper4 Says:

    How the fuck do you get a headache when a dog dies???? new one on me.
    Cricket – I dont see the point in even typing that message because it wasnt a defence of any of the allegations against fatty. You didnt give one good argument against anything, so I really dont see what you achieved by it – other than to show you are a arselicking gimp of a fat sun loving lying conning geordie.
    Paul.S – The best site out there mate, and it can only improve obviously as you get more experience – im pretty sure you must have more members than shitetalk now. P.S. I was the 500th member to join, do i win a prize?? 🙂

  13. rupertinsider Says:

    Cricket’s post was tongue-in-cheek.

  14. est-er Says:

    I get this weird login box when I try to get on est and it won’t accept my password. Is it still down or is it just me?

  15. Tom Says:

    think it’s still down. same for me.

  16. est-er Says:

    Thanks Tom 😉

  17. Insider Insider Says:

    I’ve just logged in to a secret address for the new est1892 forums.

    I could tell you the secret address, but I’ll have to charge you 30 quid each.

    Seriously, it does look like it’s going to be available one way or another very, very soon.

  18. Toby Says:

    “My dog died last night so I’ve got a blinding headache” – maybe it barked itself to its maker? Another classic Duncan Oldham tactic – when apologising for lack of effort always try to use personal crisis to soften the blow.

  19. paulcooper4 Says:

    est1892 is back up again – it just let me log in.

  20. rupertinsider Says:

    Some editorial ideas for Oldham:

    “Couldn’t do my podcast today because my hemorrhoids were bleeding”.

    “Can’t be arsed updating the site today – after hearing about the Fall of the Roman Empire”

  21. An Observer Says:

    Paul,

    Your whos online is really set to 15 mins as per the vB default 😉


Leave a Reply

