Where's the PG?

One of the people on the Insider site has been asking about what happened to one of the old contributors to the site. Dunk gets so excited at the idea that maybe this old contributor could start writing for him again that he messes up one of his answers. A poster had said, “I have a vague recollection of him demanding money for his column and Dunk telling him where to go…” but rather than deny any such thing had happened, fatty just said, “Nah, wasn’t him.” In fact it gives an insight into something fatty would have been saying about one of the other writers for his site. From what we’ve heard, fatty never liked to actually keep his promises to pay a fee to his writers, and when word got out then no doubt he’d have put some of his trademark bullshit into play.

PG Rants was a very funny (sometimes) section on Koptalk in days gone by, and was written by Paul Graham, AKA Athur Thacker. How Dunk would love him back again…

nottsgriff
Gold Member

Reged: Jun 11 2004
Posts: 463

Anyone remember PG Rants?
#1530589 – Thu Jul 06 2006 11:42 AM          Reply      Quote

If so does anyone know what happened to the bloke who used to write it? (was his name Paul Graham?)

I have a vague recollection of him demanding money for his column and Dunk telling him where to go (sorry if I got this bit wrong) but I wondered if he’s still around on this or any other forum? He used to be quite funny…
Post Extras:

Alfa
Gold Member

Reged: Jul 08 2005
Posts: 125
Loc: Canterbury, via Durning Road

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: nottsgriff]
#1531081 – Thu Jul 06 2006 03:20 PM          Reply      Quote

Name was Paul Graham. Dunno what happended between him and Dunk, you’ll have to ask. But he was very, very funny. I still call Leeds Utd Royston Vasey and under my careful guidance, the nickname has passed out of our club and stuck to our local cricket rivals.

If you want a sample, the Wayback Machine is your friend. It will also remind you of how much work Dunk puts into the site.
Post Extras:

shankly65
Honorary Member

Reged: Mar 19 2003
Posts: 8187

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: Alfa]
#1531089 – Thu Jul 06 2006 03:24 PM          Reply      Quote

Paul Graham got quite ill a few years back. He was supposed to return but never did.

There was no issue at all between him and Dunk as far as I know.
Post Extras:

magneto
Honorary Member

Reged: May 28 2002
Posts: 2847
Loc: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: shankly65]
#1531092 – Thu Jul 06 2006 03:25 PM          Reply      Quote

No issue at all and as Shankly65 says Paul fell quite ill.

The guy was/is a legend. I remember his pun on Sunderland’s new stadium…”Stadium of sh1te”.
Post Extras:

nottsgriff
Gold Member

Reged: Jun 11 2004
Posts: 463

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: shankly65]
#1531095 – Thu Jul 06 2006 03:27 PM          Reply      Quote

Quote:

Paul Graham got quite ill a few years back. He was supposed to return but never did.

There was no issue at all between him and Dunk as far as I know.

OK, sorry – I wasn’t sure if I’d remembered that bit right. I saw that Paul Tomkins had a book or two out at the moment, and it just made me wonder whether PG was still writing as he was good at writing provocative stuff that got people talking/arguing/laughing…

Thanks for letting me know anyway – I hope he’s well wherever he is.
Post Extras:

nottsgriff
Gold Member

Reged: Jun 11 2004
Posts: 463

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: Alfa]
#1531109 – Thu Jul 06 2006 03:32 PM          Reply      Quote

Quote:

Name was Paul Graham. Dunno what happended between him and Dunk, you’ll have to ask. But he was very, very funny. I still call Leeds Utd Royston Vasey and under my careful guidance, the nickname has passed out of our club and stuck to our local cricket rivals.

If you want a sample, the Wayback Machine is your friend. It will also remind you of how much work Dunk puts into the site.

Wow – that was great! It’s good to reminisce every now and again.

I remember when all of this was fields you know. Website? We didn’t know what one of them was when I was a student. Nor text message updates, radio stations, or flashy avatars and smiley gremlin things that pop up in the middle of a line…..we never had any of them. Dunk used to send us all an e-mail with a round up of the Liverpool news in the paper. And we were glad of it. I tell you, kids today don’t know they’re born!
Post Extras:

MattBiscan
Gold Member

Reged: Jun 23 2006
Posts: 247
Loc: Between York & Leeds

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: Alfa]
#1531113 – Thu Jul 06 2006 03:34 PM          Reply      Quote

Cheers for that Alfa!

I’m new so have never seen this before but it was ace!

“Wank-poor”! Brilliant!

have 5

Edited by MattBiscan (Thu Jul 06 2006 03:34 PM)
Post Extras:

nottsgriff
Gold Member

Reged: Jun 11 2004
Posts: 463

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: MattBiscan]
#1531128 – Thu Jul 06 2006 03:43 PM          Reply      Quote

Quote:

Cheers for that Alfa!

I’m new so have never seen this before but it was ace!

“Wank-poor”! Brilliant!

have 5

I particularly liked “defenders as mobile as Stephen Hawking in a power cut” from that article
Post Extras:

Alfa
Gold Member

Reged: Jul 08 2005
Posts: 125
Loc: Canterbury, via Durning Road

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: nottsgriff]
#1531138 – Thu Jul 06 2006 03:46 PM          Reply      Quote

That kind of original image was what made him great. His writing was full of things like that. It’s a gift. Try it yourself and see how hard it is.
Post Extras:

MattBiscan
Gold Member

Reged: Jun 23 2006
Posts: 247
Loc: Between York & Leeds

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: nottsgriff]
#1531139 – Thu Jul 06 2006 03:46 PM          Reply      Quote

Quote:

Quote:

Cheers for that Alfa!

I’m new so have never seen this before but it was ace!

“Wank-poor”! Brilliant!

have 5

I particularly liked “defenders as mobile as Stephen Hawking in a power cut” from that article

Yea, me too!!

Is it true about our defence communicating in German??
Post Extras:

nottsgriff
Gold Member

Reged: Jun 11 2004
Posts: 463

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: MattBiscan]
#1531158 – Thu Jul 06 2006 03:55 PM          Reply      Quote

Quote:

Quote:

Quote:

Cheers for that Alfa!

I’m new so have never seen this before but it was ace!

“Wank-poor”! Brilliant!

have 5

I particularly liked “defenders as mobile as Stephen Hawking in a power cut” from that article

Yea, me too!!

Is it true about our defence communicating in German??

Yeah – If I remember correctly it was early in the season when we had Ziege, Hyppia, Babbel and Carra. I think Ziege and Babbel had just signed and didn’t speak much English, and Hyppia could speak German, so it sort of made sense for them to use German for the first few games until they understood English (and each other’s play).

[edit – I know Ziege had been at ‘Boro for a while, but then they don’t speak English up there either!]

Edited by nottsgriff (Thu Jul 06 2006 04:00 PM)
Post Extras:

Alfa
Gold Member

Reged: Jul 08 2005
Posts: 125
Loc: Canterbury, via Durning Road

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: nottsgriff]
#1531159 – Thu Jul 06 2006 03:56 PM          Reply      Quote

They were known as “The Siegfried Line”.
Post Extras:

nottsgriff
Gold Member

Reged: Jun 11 2004
Posts: 463

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: Alfa]
#1531171 – Thu Jul 06 2006 03:59 PM          Reply      Quote

Quote:

That kind of original image was what made him great. His writing was full of things like that. It’s a gift. Try it yourself and see how hard it is.

I know. I remember sitting in a compulsory computer lesson at Uni and having to explain what I was laughing at when I was reading one of his columns. Someone ought to track him down and force him to start writing again. He’d be a blog legend these days…
Post Extras:

Niall
Honorary Member

Reged: Sep 12 2003
Posts: 17254
Loc: Glasgow

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: nottsgriff]
#1531452 – Thu Jul 06 2006 06:06 PM          Reply      Quote

I can still remember him comparing Heskey to a Sandwich toaster. His contributions were quality.
Post Extras:

revo
Honorary Member

Reged: Feb 24 2003
Posts: 5427
Loc: Liverpool L4 9ug

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: nottsgriff]
#1532067 – Thu Jul 06 2006 11:17 PM          Reply      Quote

dodgy as a brown envelope from George Graham,
Post Extras:

Dunk
KopTalk Editor

Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8066

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: nottsgriff]
#1532077 – Thu Jul 06 2006 11:21 PM          Reply      Quote

Quote:

If so does anyone know what happened to the bloke who used to write it? (was his name Paul Graham?)

I have a vague recollection of him demanding money for his column and Dunk telling him where to go (sorry if I got this bit wrong) but I wondered if he’s still around on this or any other forum? He used to be quite funny…

Nah, wasn’t him. Paul was a star, a friend. He became very ill though.

I often wonder how today’s PC brigade would respond to him.

I still have his old articles
Post Extras:

Benny_Fitzagency
Honorary Member

Reged: Sep 12 2003
Posts: 8180
Loc: The Cunningham Garage

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: revo]
#1532083 – Thu Jul 06 2006 11:21 PM          Reply      Quote

I remeber all them, used to be great them. Quality reads.

Blasts from the past.
Post Extras:

Dunk
KopTalk Editor

Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8066

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: nottsgriff]
#1532090 – Thu Jul 06 2006 11:24 PM          Reply      Quote

Quote:

I remember when all of this was fields you know. Website? We didn’t know what one of them was when I was a student. Nor text message updates, radio stations, or flashy avatars and smiley gremlin things that pop up in the middle of a line…..we never had any of them. Dunk used to send us all an e-mail with a round up of the Liverpool news in the paper. And we were glad of it. I tell you, kids today don’t know they’re born!

It was great wasn’t it back then. No official site either

Funny thing is I was working back then and never imagined what would happen as it was just a hobby. Amazing how it grew really. Ironic how people today (the knockers) forget those days. I loved it.

I created the Liverpool FC newsgroup and the Manchester United Scum Haters newsgroup.

There were some fantastic characters back then.
Post Extras:

Dunk
KopTalk Editor

Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8066

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: Benny_Fitzagency]
#1532100 – Thu Jul 06 2006 11:27 PM          Reply      Quote

Quote:

I remeber all them, used to be great them. Quality reads.

Blasts from the past.

I know he split from his partner also. I’ll have to give him a bell. He was the best person I’ve ever met from the site. He really was a legend to me.

I’ll dig out his articles tomorrow.

My favourite one was about unofficial, wildcat etc cant remember exact name but it was in response to the official site which in the early days, really tried to get rid of me.

Ok ok… the book… I’ll have news by the start of the season and a deadline date for it.
Post Extras:

nottsgriff
Gold Member

Reged: Jun 11 2004
Posts: 463

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: Dunk]
#1532227 – Fri Jul 07 2006 12:23 AM          Reply      Quote

Quote:

Quote:

I remember when all of this was fields you know. Website? We didn’t know what one of them was when I was a student. Nor text message updates, radio stations, or flashy avatars and smiley gremlin things that pop up in the middle of a line…..we never had any of them. Dunk used to send us all an e-mail with a round up of the Liverpool news in the paper. And we were glad of it. I tell you, kids today don’t know they’re born!

It was great wasn’t it back then. No official site either

Funny thing is I was working back then and never imagined what would happen as it was just a hobby. Amazing how it grew really. Ironic how people today (the knockers) forget those days. I loved it.

I created the Liverpool FC newsgroup and the Manchester United Scum Haters newsgroup.

There were some fantastic characters back then.

Aye it was brilliant! And if I could edit my guess/comment about Paul in the first post then I would (unfortunately the time limit had expired), because I wouldn’t want to hear a word against him. I used to enjoy his columns, and must have confused him leaving with one or two of the ex-players leaving….

Things are great now too though, and I couldn’t live without the text updates (I was in NZ when the Gerrard to Chelsea story broke last summer and would have gone mad if it weren’t for the text updates!), but there was a certain charm to the old site. Even before that the e-mail list was brilliant as well – saved me wasting at least an hour every morning at Liverpool Uni. Without wanting to sound like too much of a brown-nose, that’s why I can’t believe some of the knockers that you mention on the other sites – this site has grown organically from humble beginnings, and has never been just about making cash. I know because I’ve been there from the early days. If you’ve been able to look after yourself and your family as a result then good on you – I’ve had at least 9 years of access to great Liverpool news and conversation out of it
Post Extras:

nottsgriff
Gold Member

Reged: Jun 11 2004
Posts: 463

Re: Anyone remember PG Rants?  [Re: Dunk]
#1532235 – Fri Jul 07 2006 12:28 AM          Reply      Quote

Quote:

My favourite one was about unofficial, wildcat etc cant remember exact name but it was in response to the official site which in the early days, really tried to get rid of me.

Would that be this one? (the wonder of google!)

By Paul Graham

Can’t speak for the rest of you out there, but in my 38 years’ experience, I have always taken a step back whenever I have encountered the word “official”.
This reaction of mine has never been out of fear or respect, but out of extreme suspicion. The use of the word “official” is invariably followed by a bombastic pontification from supposedly on high, and more often then not delivered by someone of equally bombastic and pontificating demeanour.

Take your little car park attendant with the flat cap…you know the one. He’s so feeble in his everyday existence, that as soon he puts on his uniform and smoothes that cap over his greying, thinning locks, he becomes something else. Such is the effect of the donning of the “official” mantle. An otherwise affable little man, imbued with the false loftiness that “officialdom” necessitates, becomes an oppressive monster.

“I’m sorry but you can’t park there. I don’t care if your mother is dying in the back seat, you still can’t park there. Well, I’m sorry but it’s nothing to do with me…”

We’ve all heard it. This is what happens to normal everyday people when they suddenly become “official”. On this football forum, we are all familiar with the way match referees seem perfectly ordinary and pleasant individuals…until they pull on that black kit and shove that whistle in their gob and turn into little Hitlers, one and all.

So what is the difference between “official” and “unofficial”? Well, the former implies a certain degree of validity not afforded to its poorer cousin, the latter. If something is “official”, then it is assumed that it carries more weight, can be better relied upon and is generally the more acceptable of the two parties. Whilst the “unofficial” – despite its being often the equal in terms of influence, reliability and acceptance – tends to languish in the shadow of its more “official” self.

Or so you’d think.

But, thankfully, ordinary folk know better. Ordinary folk know better because ordinary folk, in general, are able to spot quality and therefore differentiate between what is good and what is better, what is for them and what is not.

Years ago, when I was a kid, some uncle or other bought me an old orange plastic football. Nothing special. It was just your average bog-standard kickabout thing, and being a kid I kicked that football at more brick walls, railings and on more tarmac and pavement than I’d care to recall. Then someone else bought me a new football. This time it was an “official” Football League football – still plastic, but of a far better quality. The second time I played with that ball it burst on the jagged tarmac of the council housing estate that we called wembley Stadium. Straight up. The old plastic [censored] orange ball – the “unofficial” one – continued to be bounced, booted, wellied and generally be abused for many a long year afterwards…until a dog pissed off with it and I never saw it again. But that’s not the point.

What is the point is that, just because something is “official”, that doesn’t make it of a better, superior quality. Does it? You see…I believe that true quality comes from the level of service on offer; not from some throwaway adjective applied as a phoney prerequisite to good standards. What I mean is: Yer gets what pays for. And paying doesn’t necessarily mean in solid cash.

Can, for example (and I throw this in here as a completely random choice, you understand), an “unofficial” website possibly compete with an “official” one in terms of service, based purely on those two opposite words being applied. Does the “official” website offer better quality merely because it has that supposedly superior adjective prefixed to its title? Or is it possible that the quality might have sod all to do with the way a service is described or appears? Surely not!!! God forbid.

Surely the car park attendant with the peaked cap is better than the little man before he dons his uniform. It’s obvious. Surely the man with the black kit and whistle on Saturday afternoon is ten times the man he is for the remaining six days of the week. Has to be. He’s “official”, isn’t he? And as we all know, “official” means “the best”.

Er…wrong. So bloody wrong it ain’t right.

According to my Collins Thesaurus, “official” reads as:

“accredited, authentic, authoritative, authorised, bona fide, certified, endorsed, ex cathedra, ex officio, formal, legitimate, licensed…”

…and so on and tediously so forth. But there’s nothing in there about it meaning “better” or “superior”. Funny, that. The word “unofficial” doesn’t have quite so many synonyms in my copy, but it does say this:

“Unofficial…informal, personal, wildcat.”

Yeah, give me informal, personal and wildcat anyday ahead of “bona fide”, “legitimate” and “licensed”.

Sadly, there are people out there who would have us believe that the “official” line is the only line to take. You see, anything else they see as a challenge to their mendacious brand of altruism, their phoney superiority based on this myth that “officialdom” perpetuates. For those people it is all important that they stamp on and stamp out what they see as “unofficial” and therefore, in their limited sphere of thinking, somehow inferior. I feel sorry for people like that, I really do. Sad bastards, the lot of them. I promised I wouldn’t descend to such language, but these bastards really piss me off. They piss me off when they try to browbeat others who are only trying to do something because they feel deeply about it.

I believe that this sprawling morass of convoluted [censored] we call the Internet is big enough to stand and withstand more than a good few diverse websites all dedicated to the same goal. Sadly, as big as I believe the Internet to be, I have to concede that some of the people who like to frequent it are far from big enough to be so magnanimous.
Post Extras: 

24 Responses to “Where's the PG?”

  1. rupert Says:

    It was Paul Tomkins he refused to pay after contracting to do so, and he refused Ian St.John and eventually Tommy Smith and all of them. After they all helped Fatty develop a readership he wanted to keep all the money for himself.

    PG Rants was very good. I don’t know what happened to Paul Graham. I do remember him writing a few “dark” pieces about how he was being threatened by some KT readers who could not take his wicked satire.

    Fatty used to publish big disclaimers warning everyone that Paul’s views were not KT’s – actually warning people not to read the articles if they thought they might be offended. You had to pass through a portal to get to them. Posters often dissed Paul. I’d be very surprised if Fatso paid for any of them.

    Nostalgia is not what it used to be, is it?

    Those comments about how interesting the old KT was missed the point.

    These “knockers” on here have acknowledged that as primitive as it was, it was the first and attracted a large number of articulate people. The readers controlled the site. The site was about LFC – not Fatso or even the readers. The news he circulated was from other media – just as it is now – but then he didn’t claim it was exclusive to him.

    So what happened to KT? Fatso aliented most of its users – that’s what happened – in his efforts to turn it from a site about LFC to a site about him and all the gory detals of his family and marriage and his sexual fantasies etc etc He lost most of the first generations who moved away to set up other sites – none of them have adopted Fatso culture or style or tactics.

    He encouraged cliques who wanted to talk about themselves. He attacked Fowler and the club. He attacked “the suits” mainly because they would not allow him to monopolise LFC’s fan base on the internet. He started doing “investigative” journalism – i.e. muck raking and gossip mongering to increase his hits and sell on to the tabloids esepcially the S**. He went for the money and when he got the taste for it he wanted more and more – allowing the site to be the home of pop-ups and cookies and malware and every kind of ad. Then he found porno paid more than news about LFC and so it went on.

    In that post you quoted Fatso claiming that the official site trying to put him out of business. That is a complete lie. Fatty objected to the new competition and waged a campaign of mockery against the official site and tried to redirect traffic from it – like he still does with this site and every other site. As I said earlier today he had a young lad at the official site sacked for telling someone that KT claims to privileged information was not reliable.

    Essentially, though KT performs the same service today as it did then and as every other site does now – its a place to meet and talk about LFC and what has been published about LFC. The biggest difference between now and then and between KT and the other sites is Fatso personally charges for information that he takes from the public domain and other sites and lies that it is exclusive to KT. The excuse is always that he has to make a living and look after his family. But owners of other sites can do this without all the lying and cheating fiddling and personality cult that goes on at KT.

    There are some very obvious things Fatso could do to reduce his costs, increase his net profits yet conduct the site with far greater ethics and efficiency. But its no use telling him – the site is inextricably interwoven in his unpleasant personality and private life.

  2. the money shot Says:

    PG Rants was great, and even the Tommy Smith and Ian St John columns were worth reading (sometimes). He also used to have Richie Partidge write occasional stuff about life in the reserves. No doubt they all eventually got fed up with Dunk for his empty promises though.

    I used to be on KT a lot in those days under the name trickyd. But even then Dunk was starting to rip us off. I wrote an article for his ‘From the Kop’ section and despite promising a reward, nothing doing. Paul Tomkins was onto him before I twigged – he emailed me about his suspicions ages ago.

    I’m ashamed to say that I even sent Dunk some cash once in the early days ‘to keep the site going’. Not even a ‘thank you’ out of the con man. Still, what goes around usually comes around…

  3. Toby Says:

    Koptalk was actually a redesign of an old LFC site called Liverpool Forever by a lad called Colin Seaman. Duncan muscled in and offered to help pay for the redesign for a half share in the site. Col reluctantly accepted and Koptalk was born. Within a few months Col realised that his and Duncan’s visions were completely different – he wanted a successful website for Liverpool fans and Duncan wanted to make money – so he left him to it.

    Unfortunately for Duncan, he had absolutely no web skills whatsoever, and struggled to keep up the daily news stories using a html editor. Those were very funny times and if anyone can find some of these articles on the Archive they’d be hilarious to see again. To this day he has massive problems with this side of the ‘business’.

  4. rupert Says:

    Toby – in that post Fatty refers to the fact that he “used to work in those days” but then became full time at KT. That’s quit a slip of the tongue.

    He also claimed back then and again last week that he lived in a DHS bedsit in Liverpool. So where did he get the money to buy half of Colin Seaman’s site?

    I do remember how he would use the fact that he was going full-time to beg for more money.

    What did he work at in those days? I seem to recall he was also very vague about it but once claimed it was site design even though his own site design was very primitive. He also used to beg on his site for readers who were site designers to do work for him free.

    Later we discovered that before KT he had been selling Sky and other satellite cards through usenet groups illegally under the name of Del Johnson and was being chased by those customers he cheated (there are links to that here and on http://www.kraptalk.com ) I do remember that he continued to be interested in that and often used his KT “editorials” until about three years ago to suggest how people could get hold of such cards.

    On the question of the money he has “earned” to pay of his Ma’s mortage and buy a Merc and so on – my understanding is that his big windfall came from suing another LFC fan site. He still boasts of the 50,000 judgment he received plus costs. Do you know anything about that ? Who did he sue and for what? He used to be involved in other court cases – or so he said. It can’t be private because he says he will detail it in his “book”. Anyone want to provide the details?

    I wouldn’t put it past him to sue Sayers for making their hot pies irresistible and thereby directly causing his obesity.

  5. rupert Says:

    willrobbo: Your post above showed up only after I had posted mine. That link you gave to the KT in 2000 is excellent. It even leads to some of PG Rants.

    It was more primitive than that originally.

    I do remember the claim that Heggem logged on – he was one of the few, probably the only LFC player, who was computer savvy in those days. He lived in the Albert Dock and ran his own web page.

  6. Part Time Poster Says:

    No Rupert, as I said in my post on his excuse for not moving to Melwood, he doesn’t like Sayers pasties as they are not up to the standard of his ma’s pies currently being made at the newly aquired Koptalk Bakery in Newcastle.

    If anything, he will be suing Sayers for poor quality of product , that directly lead to him not extending his empire to a site overlooking melwood, thus denying him and his valuable subscribers the detailed inside information that has been promised.

    As a result, he could sue Sayers for loss of earnings.

  7. rupert Says:

    This is what Fatso used to post as a warning on PG Rants:
    ___________________________________________________
    If easily offended, please stay away – simple !

    The views expressed by this Red, P.G. (Paul Graham), will not be the views of yours, Kop Talk or anyone else who has an inch of deceny in them.

    Please send death threats direct to Paul and not to Kop Talk ! You will find Paul in the Liverpool newsgroup : uk.sport.football.clubs.liverpool

    The articles listed below may contain language only suitable to people that attend regular football games !!!!

    This area of the site is supposed to be a bit of a laugh – if you’re a miserable git, don’t read P.G. Rants and then start moaning and droaning – don’t take life so seriously.

  8. lobster Says:

    good analysis rupert

  9. chapeau du soleil Says:

    Didn’t fatty once try to deflect the criticism of him by claiming the money for the merc came from some form of inheritance?

  10. Toby Says:

    From my knowledge, he didn’t so much buy half of Seaman’s site, but convinced him to work together on the new one. I’d like to hear Colin’s versions of events because I know he wasn’t happy with Duncan’s practices at the time.

    The site only started to become profitable because it was part of the Future Publishing network of football sites called UFN or TFN and this is where Duncan started to earn money. When that went tits up he started his VIP scams to try to maintain his lifestyle then was paid to join Footy-Mad (a few grand a month I believe, if Mr Taxman is reading). He took them to court when they sacked him but I don’t know if he received anything from it – I think it was just court costs.

    He has threatened at least three other LFC sites with legal action, despite his assurances on KT that he has never done so. This heavy-arm tactic obviously isn’t the image he likes to portray to his paying customers who think he’s a genuine bloke who means nobody any harm.

    So if anyone knows Colin Seaman please tell him to get in touch with us! I’m sure it would make for very interesting reading.

  11. Toby Says:

    Can I add allegedly to all those statements above? 🙂

  12. rupert Says:

    Toby – He referred again last week – for the umpteenth time – that he has won 50,000 in a court judgement against another site and related how the judge contemptuosuly dismissed the other sites counter-claims. He said he would reveal all in his book which is now schedule for the New Year Reading List of the Times Literary Supplement.

    It would be great if people with any factual knowledge would write in publicly or privately – about all his legal threats, his court winnings, his deals and his income. We could help him get his book out. In fact people wouldn’t have to buy his book if we had all the content on here – just like they don’t have to buy his Insider and Gold Club “information” because its all published verbatim on here.

  13. Toby Says:

    I’ll speak with my ‘inside sources’ and see if I can come up with any more accurate figures for you.

  14. rupert Says:

    OWEN OUT FOR A YEAR http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,27-2259837,00.html

    there goes another of Fatty’s sure-fire bets made on hi radio show from Newcastle and on the KT site Gold Club. He said he had just spoken to someone at Newcastle and Owen would be a LFC player at the start of next season.

    BTW this is not a news site but by posting that url above I just beat Fatty and all the other sites – therefore it is my exclusive and I demand my 30 quid – or at least equivalent value in donuts.

  15. willrobbo Says:

    New post from Fat Arse that will no doubt be covered by the Insider in the next blog:

    We’re pleased to announce that as from Monday we will have a new face working at KOPTALK HQ. She goes by the name of Gianna and although she doesn’t officially start until after the weekend, she has been in the office this week learning the ropes. Gianna has been brought in to help with support issues following an increase in members to the koptalkinsider.com website this summer. We also hope to bring in some more new faces before the new season starts. We will then add a staff page to the main KOPTALK.COM site which will have mug shots of all of us and some blurb etc. We’ll also be setting up the office webcam which will be online 24/7.

    —-

    Yay! KopTalk webcam! I for one will enjoy seeing Steve and Dunk getting it on. Also, a mugshot of Dunk would, I’m sure, prove to be invaluable.

  16. String Vest Says:

    Looking at WillRobbos link to the old KT site, that at least looks to have decent content, that is/was exclusive to koptalk – different columns etc. Whilst , I still wouldn’t pay for it, at least it looks like some effort has gone in to making it distinct. An owner of a website like that with a bit of morality could still be making a decent living off it while not ripping people off, you would think.

    The current incarnation is just a message board that you pay £30 for – a load of old bollocks when there are better free versions with better inside info.

    He’s selling a lie.

  17. rupert Says:

    Anyone seen Fatty new service to LFC fans?

    He is now offering “Translated from Spanish into English by our qualified translator in the Gold Club!”

    So he’s found another way of charging for the services offered freely by one of his readers.

    The thing is that probably thousands of us who follow LFC can translate fluently and accurately from the Spanish . So I wonder what is added by this “qualified translator”. That phrase usually means someone whose skills are certified for use in a court or other official record.

    But Fatty doesn’t care – he’ll exaggerate the value of anything he’s selling. When he was in the cleaning business with his Ma in his pre-KT days – he used to describe himself as a “sanitary engineer”.

  18. String Vest Says:

    Fuck me!

    Click the newsgroup photos link – I dare you

    http://web.archive.org/web/20000310205300/www.koptalk.co.uk/extra/mugs.html

  19. rupert Says:

    String Vest – you hit the nail on the head. The old site was heavily infleunced by its readers – some of whom were creative. Gradually he squeezed out any content that cost him money or effort. He also lost many of the readers who contributing freely. He replaced content with made-up gossip, porn, ads and a concentration on himself and his private life.

    Many of those who populate his site – like the Ryans and Brendan’s – are really mainly interested in Pobitch kind of gossip and word games with each other in their small cliques. They don’t realise or don’t care that the hits they generate allow Fatso to go on claiming that KT is an important LFC-oriented site.

  20. Toby Says:

    Surely he’s the only wanker who owns a Merc but hires an Astra for the wedding day?

  21. rupert Says:

    Why’s the right front tyre flat?


Leave a Reply

