Duncan's car parking advice

fat_parker.jpgFatty shares more of his thoughts with us, after someone on the forum asks about car parking. We’ve edited out just about all of the replies, and even then it goes on for a bit. Dunk was in the mood to talk last night, after sneaking away from his mum and getting onto the computer.

There’s a lot of interesting Dunkisms in here – for example this one: “Usually (some of) the kids are look outs for the older lads. The young uns run over, case whats in your boot etc as you get your coats and so on and then report back to older brothers who then do you over.” If your car’s got a ref of “D1UNK” then we expect you’ll have a few people wanting to speak to you…

shandyman
Gold Member
Reged: Jan 15 2003
Posts: 288
Loc: Exeter

Parking near Anfield
#1525387 – Tue Jul 04 2006 06:43 AM

I havent been to Anfield for a couple of years now but whenever I park near the ground, there are always some guys that say “give us some money to look after your car”.

Does this still go on and if so, why havent the police stopped it?

Just wondered as some of the stories Ive heard are quite bad!
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: shandyman]
#1526590 – Tue Jul 04 2006 04:46 PM

Quote:

I havent been to Anfield for a couple of years now but whenever I park near the ground, there are always some guys that say “give us some money to look after your car”.

Does this still go on and if so, why havent the police stopped it?

Just wondered as some of the stories Ive heard are quite bad!

Usually (some of) the kids are look outs for the older lads. The young uns run over, case whats in your boot etc as you get your coats and so on and then report back to older brothers who then do you over.

“Can I mind yer car mate?”

“No there’s a Rottweiler in the back.”

“Oh it can put f*cking fires out can it?”
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: shandyman]
#1526600 – Tue Jul 04 2006 04:49 PM

Quote:

It just seems wierd that you have to pay somebody not to vandalise your car. Ive always paid £2-3 and hoped it was enough. Ive always been asked to pay when I leave the car – does that mean you can pay when you get back if you have no change on you?

Nobody has to do anything. But I guess it depends on the kids. Some will watch it, some will leave it, some will rob it.

I have always given them something just for the cheek of it.

My car got done one day. I walked back to it and there was glass all over next to my door where they’d put the rear passenger door window in.

This kid runs up “I’ve been minding your car mate”

You shouiuld have been there to hear my reply
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: davell]
#1526612 – Tue Jul 04 2006 04:51 PM

Quote:

Hey mate, I used to mind cars when I was a kid and it is a tradition around the area so don’t call those scum bags when you know nothing of what its about. You had the same blokes every week parking in the same space and more often or not they would ask if you weren’t there to look after their cars.

I always advise people to find a decent kid from a decent family, maybe sat on his mam and dad’s doorstep and offer him a decent little earner to watch the car. If you’re good with them and you choose right, you’ll be looked after.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: liverbird100]
#1526616 – Tue Jul 04 2006 04:52 PM

Quote:

I wouldn’t call it tradition mate.”Betties Hot Pot” is tradition,Singin Ynwa before and after games is tradition,But kids begging on the streets wouldn’t come into my view of tradition.

Oh sorry,are they offering a service,to look out for your car?How are they gona do that exactly?

I’d say it was a tradition. It’s been done for years. Sadly you’ll always get one or two bad uns spoiling it for the genuine kids.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: redeoin]
#1526624 – Tue Jul 04 2006 04:54 PM

Quote:

And there are people who post regularly on this site who can’t see the parking problem that a 60,000 capacity stadium will cause. As can be seen from this thread, there is a problem now. By the way, the word you are looking for is “extortion” NOT “tradition”. If people have always dealt smack on my road, it doesn’t mean that it’s harmless “tradition”.

You’re not really saying “extortion” is coming from these kids are ya?
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: rushscored4]
#1526627 – Tue Jul 04 2006 04:55 PM

Quote:

Quote:

And there are people who post regularly on this site who can’t see the parking problem that a 60,000 capacity stadium will cause. As can be seen from this thread, there is a problem now. By the way, the word you are looking for is “extortion” NOT “tradition”. If people have always dealt smack on my road, it doesn’t mean that it’s harmless “tradition”.

There are loads of parking spaces around Anfield if you can be bothered doing some research. Unfortunately what happens is that out of towners (no, this isnt another dig) who don’t visit the ground often and don’t know the area leave it too late to find a space or they won’t pay the five or six quid for a proper car park.

If the official car parks are full people try to park on the road. Because it’s a built up part of the city there’s not much safe on-road parking and there are (like many other areas in every town and city) some scrotes who will try and rob your car if you’re daft enough to leave valuables on show (and believe me, people are and do).

The local kids have for years looked after these streets by asking “mind yer car, Mister?” They charge a quid (or two if they can get away with it) but that’s a small price to pay for not getting back to your car with broken glass all around it and your Gucci handbag nicked…

It’s like “penny for the Guy” on bonfire night. I don’t agree with it but it’s laughable to call it “extortion”. It’s just kids trying to make a few extra bob out of the daft woolies who are either too thick or too tight to use a proper manned car park.


– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: Chewbacca]
#1526638 – Tue Jul 04 2006 04:57 PM

Quote:

If someone will willingly harm your car for the sake of a pound they deserve a severe beating and I would give them one if I saw them do it too. They’d be lucky if they every walked again to be honest. Scum of the earth.

Nah they’re not saying that. That’s just paranoia.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: redeoin]
#1526644 – Tue Jul 04 2006 04:58 PM

Quote:

Why do you assume that everyone who doen’t agree with you is a Southerner. And if they were, why do you use the word in a derogatory manner. You may be a proud Scouser, but I strongly advise you to get over yourself. You are in danger of disappearing up your own arse.

No need for that is there
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: liverbird100]
#1526659 – Tue Jul 04 2006 05:00 PM

Quote:

So coming back to my car and finding my ariel broken off is a “tradition” in your books,is it?I should of paid these young scallies a pound not to break my ariel.
I for one didn’t say anything about people from liverpool but about these youngsters which are in fact trouble makers.
Now run along you sad fart and live in your tiny little bubble and don’t look outside your window and see whats really going on.
People like YOU make me sick.So fckin what if i’m not from liverpool,i visit the city often and have the right to vent my opinion on facts based on experiences.

No need

Oh and can I just say, kids will be kids. Maybe if you snapped at the kids they might have thought “f*ck him” and done your aerial.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: kopsince68]
#1526661 – Tue Jul 04 2006 05:00 PM

Quote:

lad says to me ” mind your car mister?”
i says “its alright ive got an alsation in the back”
lad says “put out fires can it mister?”

always makes me smile that one

Damn, I just did one of them!
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: redeoin]
#1526711 – Tue Jul 04 2006 05:10 PM

Quote:

Davell.

Apart from being supremely wise and the scousiest scouser who ever wore a shell suit or nicked a set of alloys, you have yourself resorted to insults and generalisation about other parts of the country.

Let’s not get into pathetic sterotyping shall we.

Yeh but I think he has a point. Who’s going to understand him more, someone who grew up in that area or someone from miles away who has no idea what it was like growing up in the north for example (I know the south had and has issues also). I think the “down south” thing was in relation to the location on the profile of one of the posters on here.

To be honest, if I was from Liverpool, I’d probably be sick of out of towners misunderstanding me.

The nearest I got to this was my house in Scarborough is near the cricket ground. Every now and then throughout the summer when the cricket was on the out of towners if you like, bombarded our narrow streets and just abandonded their cars. Set of t*ssers the lot of them. Miserable, abusive… even in my 20’s I’d go along the street snapping their aerials off… ok I’m joking but I thought it sounded funny.

I was speaking to this old dear at Anfield yesterday. I actually struck a deal to use her drive on matchdays. I was going to offer her £10 but I offered her £20 as she was so nice bless her. Anyways paying £20 for that bit of safety when the car is important to me is worth it. I can pay £5 to get boxed in for an hour or so or I can risk the car getting vandalised or stolen. Alternatively I can get a ticket. £20 to an old dear is worth every penny.

She said before the lines were on her street people just turned up and left their cars and they couldn’t get fire engines or ambulances in. You have to think from these people’s point of views.

Anyway, people from the south are just wusses right… us northern boys love gravy
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

liverbird100
Gold Member
Reged: Aug 08 2005
Posts: 936
Loc: down saaarrrrffff

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: davell]
#1526768 – Tue Jul 04 2006 05:25 PM

Quote:

Quote:

Quote:

Quote:

Quote:

Quote:

Quote:

It still goes on mate and always will. I don’t see anything wrong with it though. Just say yes, pay them a quid when you get back and then be on your way.

What a ridiculous comment, they are thieiving little pieces of scum and should be taken to a disused car park and severely beaten and then their parents beaten as well for brining up little sh*ts for kids.

Scumbags in the making.

Hey mate, I used to mind cars when I was a kid and it is a tradition around the area so don’t call those scum bags when you know nothing of what its about. You had the same blokes every week parking in the same space and more often or not they would ask if you weren’t there to look after their cars.

I wouldn’t call it tradition mate.”Betties Hot Pot” is tradition,Singin Ynwa before and after games is tradition,But kids begging on the streets wouldn’t come into my view of tradition.

Oh sorry,are they offering a service,to look out for your car?How are they gona do that exactly?

Its not begging lad and thats typical of the small mindedness you get from some of our small minded brothers in the wonderful south. Do me a favour and talk about something you actually know about and do not dis what is in essence a tradition (by the way look it up, it also means custom, habit, practic and INNOVATION) Innovation is something we scousers have in abundance, sorry it offends our silver tongued southern neighbours.

Liverpool born, proud and thankful.

So coming back to my car and finding my ariel broken off is a “tradition” in your books,is it?I should of paid these young scallies a pound not to break my ariel.
I for one didn’t say anything about people from liverpool but about these youngsters which are in fact trouble makers.
Now run along you sad fart and live in your tiny little bubble and don’t look outside your window and see whats really going on.
People like YOU make me sick.So fckin what if i’m not from liverpool,i visit the city often and have the right to vent my opinion on facts based on experiences.

Can you read mate or is someone reading this to you, please tell me where anyone has mentioned pulling aerials off cars. I merely pointed out to you, now if I am going too fast please let me know, that it is a tradition for kids to mind cars around the Anfield area, so they can make a few bob. With me so far? you are good.

I am sorry you are not from Liverpool, that must hurt but we all have our crosses to bear, I am one of the lucky ones and thank my parents every day for the honour they have bestowed on me.

Now if you are that bothered, why don’t you, now wait for it, actually pay for your parking rather than take spaces up from people who live in the area, haven’t thought of that, well there we go, its what us sad farts can do for you, offer words of wisdom to those less fortunate.

I love the fact that you want to come to Liverpool and can’t blame you for that, but if you have a problem with kids using their initiative and offering a cheaper service than the official car parks, after all you are parking in their homestead, why don’t you, now this is controversial, not bother coming to the city. I am sure the club will survive without your pocket money to keep them afloat and you can watch a team in an area that offers free parking and a massage to boot.

Now, if you would rather resort to insults than listen to those who are far wiser, knowledgeable and experienced about such matters, I do pity you. Call me soft, but that’s me.

I may be Sad and a fart but I am from Liverpool, and I choose that over your pathetic existence any day son.

Please therefore take your Alf Garnett/Boris Johnson attitude and run along as i am sure you are late for potty training. Leave this site for those who like a well reasoned and thought out debate on matters they actually know a little about.

It’s you that can’t read,if you could than you would of noticed that i actually said that i actually park in a car park.The aeriel incident happened only once and for that reason i park elsewhere.
Now don’t get on your moral high ground about “Save the paking for the people that live in the street” bolox because thats just crap.
Being from Liverpool doesn’t make you a better person or in fact mean you have a better existence either.
Whats there to know anyway about these kids?it’s bloody obvious that if you don’t give them money they will do something to your car or lead you to believe they will do something to your car!
I recal Alf garnett being a bit of racist,What you getting at with that?
Who the fck do you think you are even suggesting to people not to come to the city?
What service are these kids offering exactly?
They wana earn money go and get a paper round.
Some of these kids are no older than 5 or 6,Wtf.Earn money for what exactly?
You, imo, are the most single minded,ignorrant person i have ever come accross on this site!
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: liverbird100]
#1526774 – Tue Jul 04 2006 05:27 PM

Come on girls… any more and you’re all out, back in the Insider Zoo
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: nottsgriff]
#1527223 – Tue Jul 04 2006 09:06 PM

Quote:

May as well chuck in my two-pennorth seeing as everyone else has

It IS local tradition – same as if you’re a bloke you don’t carry your change around in a wallet, same as when you tell a barmaid to take a drink herself when you’ve bought a round she will take a 20-30p tip..same as lots of other local traditions/customs that you wouldn’t know anything about unless you’d lived up there…

It IS harmless – is giving a 12 year old kid a quid really the end of the world? It is not extortion, there is never usually a threat, and the only reason you are parked there is because you are trying to get a free parking spot instead of paying in a supervised car park…

And some of you on here should be ashamed of yourselves for comments such as “scum of the earth”, “they deserve a good battering” etc. Small kids asking for a quid to watch your car are really that much of a threat to you are they??? Grow up.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: liverbird100]
#1527280 – Tue Jul 04 2006 09:46 PM

Quote:

if a stranger comes upto you and asks you for money for fck all,what do you call that?I think that’s begging imo.

Anyway,i’m tired of all this now.I know for a fact that my kids don’t do and will never do anything like that!

Well I’d applaud my kids for using their heads. When they did trick or treat they made £40 a night. In the end we drew up maps and planned our routes
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: liverbird100]
#1527287 – Tue Jul 04 2006 09:53 PM

God yeh, I’d never let them out on their own. We live in a cul-de-sac and they can’t venture past the end of it and there’s only six houses.

They get dressed up and rather than go round the houses round here, we headed out to the villages where the money is

They did £20 > £40 a night trick or treat/penny for the guy. It pays the paper bill, they get some 10p mixes
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dunk
KopTalk Editor
Reged: Aug 20 2004
Posts: 8034

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: bowden]
#1527338 – Tue Jul 04 2006 10:28 PM

Quote:

Liver100, I bet I am a bigger contributor than you to society. Tax, Vat, spending, services to the community etc. My kids just like yours havent done any car minding, but then again they live in a 6 bed, 4 bath mansion in the country. I grew up in Anfield in the 60’s and I did mind cars. I wasnt a scally then and I am far from one now.

Good on you/them mate. I like hearing about people who have ‘done it’
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Red_Polo
Honorary Member
Reged: Jan 14 2004
Posts: 8904
Loc: London

Re: Parking near Anfield [Re: pacman]
#1527597 – Wed Jul 05 2006 12:21 AM

Can’t believe some of the people on this thread. How easy to judge people using your own culture and social situation, pretty [censored] stupid as well mind. Some people have got no tolerance.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Told you it was long. Comments?

15 Responses to “Duncan's car parking advice”

  1. Bill Says:

    What a load of shit, might be like that at Newcastle but not at anfield.

  2. Bill Says:

    Oh, in case anyones wondering I meant this bit

    ““Usually (some of) the kids are look outs for the older lads. The young uns run over, case whats in your boot etc as you get your coats and so on and then report back to older brothers who then do you over.””

  3. Neil Says:

    That was on some long arse thread about minding cars, with some right fucked up comments from twats on there who don’t know what it’s about. I minded cars for years in our street when we were kids, Harmless fun with folks going the match and the opportunity to make a few bob while they got car-parking for free outside your house. Divvies calling it extortion and begging!! fucking knobheads. Just reminds me why I stopped visiting that pile of shite ages ago. But since this blog I’ve been going back and forth to watch the fall-out.

  4. rupert Says:

    “Come on girls… any more and you’re all out, back in the Insider Zoo”

    We’ve got him in such a state of paranoia he thinks we’re all over the place – and maybe we are!

    He keeps making allusions to us without giving our name and address- if he keeps it up the men in white coats will put him in an elephant trap and hoist him away.

    Fatso, it’ll be better for you diagnosis, if you just explain to your bewildered readers that these voices you keep hearing are ours. What have you got to lose. If they all flock over here you’ll get more hits – or so you keep telling us. Or is that paranoid gibberish too?

    On the subject of his car and thieving “scallies” (a subject he is thinking of writing up for his friends at the S**) – I think this is all part of his long-term planning to explain why he will not attend matches at Anfield next season.

  5. lobster Says:

    as usual the fatso is so full of shits

  6. Matt W Says:

    Stunning drop in the number of Post hits for Fatty’s forum. He’s on the ropes….. check it out!

  7. Whois Lookup Says:

    What’s hilarious is a couple of years back the big man denounced the practice of paying kids on the street and said he preferred to park on double yellow lines and accept the fine every time he went to Anfield.

  8. Phil T Says:

    There has been a massive decline in the amount of posts.

    To be fair to him, a few years ago there were hundreds of people visiting at once, with many posting questions/answers etc.

    Now, there is but a trickle, and those that do post are posting crap anyway.

    The intelligent posters have moved on and are posting on YNWA etc. They’ve seen Koptalk to be rotten to the core, and now we’re just sitting around waiting for it to grind to a halt.

    We should take bets: which will make Koptalk fold first; the inane boredom and nobody visiting anymore, or the authorities getting Dunk for back taxes etc?

  9. Chunka Says:

    Did anyone see Rogue traders last night?

    Just a though 🙂

  10. rupert Says:

    Phil T – My soundings are that a lot of the KT guys are going over to TLW and RAWK – they’re hits and postings are going up sharply.

  11. rupert Says:

    I guess that all the other LFC sites, even the very new ones, are getting more business lately.

  12. bigf00t Says:

    YNWA isnt letting me register 😦

    anyone know how i can get round this?

    The error returned was:
    We are not accepting any new registrations on the forum due to an influx of wind-up merchants who are not welcome on the board.

  13. lobster Says:

    whats the web address to YNWA ??

  14. bigf00t Says:

    http://www.ynwa.tv i think…

  15. Insider Insider Says:

    The web address is ynwa.tv – see the link at the top of this page (FORUM) for a list of forums you can try signing up to.

    If any YNWA.tv bosses are reading this and know of a way users can get around this loony ban let me know. Is there an email address they can write to to request access or anything?


Leave a Reply

