Locked thread.

Boycott the Sun-loving KoptalkDunk doesn't like criticism. The little argument about one of his mods posting quotes from The Sun was ended as soon as he saw he wasn't getting 100% support from his minions. He locked the thread. (To be fair his moderator was starting to see the error of his ways, maybe there's some hope for him if he can learn to ignore what the fat one says a little more often). Some of this is quite funny, althought the subject matter means it's not really easy to laugh. Dunk still doesn't come out of it with any credit though. Boycott Koptalk.

Dj_Sydney_A
Crowd Control

Loc: Ryan O'Hare says "Sound"
30-05-06 12:44 PM – Post#211681
In response to livvy145

To clarify, i dont read or buy it, and i never will. I personally make that choice, from knowing the facts about what happened, and making a decision from that. I dont feel comfortable with Liverpool fans buying or reading it, and i'd rather they didnt. I do feel strongly about that, but i recognise that i dont have the right to tell people what to do. I can tell them the story if they dont know it, but they can then make their own mind up. Needless to say, if they choose to read it anyway, that disappoints me. But i cannot and will not try to enforce my views on them.

I've seen plenty of LFC fans at motorway service stations reading it, and it does disappoint me. But i recognise that i cannot dictate what people choose to do.

With regards to this thread, i didnt buy, read, quote or copy from that paper, its website or anything else linked to it.

I dont feel i have to 'justify' or defend myself, i'm just clarifying what i ACTUALLY did – copied and pasted the transfer gossip column from BBC.

And while i appreciate people's support on this, i honestly am capable of fighting my own corner, i dont feel 'bullied' or anything like that. If there came a time when i felt like that, or couldnt handle what people throw at me, i'd not post here anymore.

Cheers. Disclaimer: I reserve the right to disagree with you & consequently, to offend you. If I do disagree with you & offend you, the best course of action is to not cry about it. It's for the best.

 

Toxteth Terrier
U-19 Player

30-05-06 12:45 PM – Post#211685
In response to Dunk

What a bunch of daft cnuts. It's not like Sydney_A is making a pro – Sun comment is it?

He posted a collection of news stories, one of which came from that filthy rag.

It's feckin news ya tw@ts, if you don't want to read it, skip over it……

 

Dunk
KopTalk Daddy

Age: 31
Loc: KOPTALK.COM
30-05-06 12:46 PM – Post#211687
In response to RiS

RiS Said:
Dunk Said:

So basically what you are saying is that you don't give a ******** about what they wrote in 1989? You might feel happy reading The Sun, which you obviously do, but I think calling people who continue to feel strongly about it "pathetic" is shameful.

No what I'm basically saying is this thread is pathetic.

 

Dj_Sydney_A
Crowd Control

Loc: Ryan O'Hare says "Sound"
30-05-06 12:47 PM – Post#211691
In response to Dunk

It started off ok though! Disclaimer: I reserve the right to disagree with you & consequently, to offend you. If I do disagree with you & offend you, the best course of action is to not cry about it. It's for the best.

 

Dunk
KopTalk Daddy

Age: 31
Loc: KOPTALK.COM
30-05-06 12:48 PM – Post#211697
In response to RiS

RiS Said:
"If I see anything of interest in that rag regarding Liverpool FC then I will check it out. If that means I'll be stoned or hung so be it."

Sorry, you cannot read the Sun and claim to be a Liverpool fan. It just doesn't work.

I don't read the rag but IF someone tipped me off about something relating to LFC which I thought my readers would be interested in then I would source it. I buy The Mirror, always have done, always will do. I was brought up in a family that despised The Sun because of it's links to the Conservative party, that's why we didn't have it pre-Hillsborough.

 

rr
Trialist

30-05-06 12:50 PM – Post#211704
In response to livvy145

The Sun printed the following in massive letters on its front page:

“The Truth.
Some fans picked pockets of victims
Some fans urinated on the brave cops
Some fans beat up PC giving kiss of life.”

Just a day or two after the disaster.

It never apologised. Ever.

No new editor or owner ever came along and put it right. Whether other Murdoch or McKenzie media outlets should be boycotted is open to debate. However there is no debate over whether or not the Sun should be boycotted.

Freedom of Speech? I've heard from other Liverpool fans that people get banned from here for speaking their mind, now if that's true then that goes to show what this site thinks of freedom of speech. To be fair this thread is still here though, so perhaps there is freedom of speech on here.

Why doesn't someone do a poll on here – should the Sun be boycotted or not?

Dj_Sydney_A
Crowd Control

Loc: Ryan O'Hare says "Sound"
30-05-06 12:52 PM – Post#211711
In response to rr

rr Said:
The Sun printed the following in massive letters on its front page:

“The Truth.
Some fans picked pockets of victims
Some fans urinated on the brave cops
Some fans beat up PC giving kiss of life.”

Just a day or two after the disaster.

It never apologised. Ever.

No new editor or owner ever came along and put it right. Whether other Murdoch or McKenzie media outlets should be boycotted is open to debate. However there is no debate over whether or not the Sun should be boycotted.

Freedom of Speech? I've heard from other Liverpool fans that people get banned from here for speaking their mind, now if that's true then that goes to show what this site thinks of freedom of speech. To be fair this thread is still here though, so perhaps there is freedom of speech on here.

Why doesn't someone do a poll on here – should the Sun be boycotted or not?

I dont think people are disputing the boycott, they're just acknowledging that, once in full possession of the facts, people are free to decide for themselves.

You cant preach for freedom of speech and then wish to limit freedom of choice.

As FOR freedom of speech, no one is banned for speaking their mind. Perhaps the manner in which some of them do it is what gets them into bother. Disclaimer: I reserve the right to disagree with you & consequently, to offend you. If I do disagree with you & offend you, the best course of action is to not cry about it. It's for the best.

 

RiS
Trialist

30-05-06 12:53 PM – Post#211713
In response to Dj_Sydney_A

Dj_Sydney_A Said:
To clarify, i dont read or buy it, and i never will. I personally make that choice, from knowing the facts about what happened, and making a decision from that. I dont feel comfortable with Liverpool fans buying or reading it, and i'd rather they didnt. I do feel strongly about that, but i recognise that i dont have the right to tell people what to do. I can tell them the story if they dont know it, but they can then make their own mind up. Needless to say, if they choose to read it anyway, that disappoints me. But i cannot and will not try to enforce my views on them.

I've seen plenty of LFC fans at motorway service stations reading it, and it does disappoint me. But i recognise that i cannot dictate what people choose to do.

With regards to this thread, i didnt buy, read, quote or copy from that paper, its website or anything else linked to it.

I dont feel i have to 'justify' or defend myself, i'm just clarifying what i ACTUALLY did – copied and pasted the transfer gossip column from BBC.

And while i appreciate people's support on this, i honestly am capable of fighting my own corner, i dont feel 'bullied' or anything like that. If there came a time when i felt like that, or couldnt handle what people throw at me, i'd not post here anymore.

Cheers.

The thing is what you did wasn't that bad. I would have removed the rumours from them myself instead of just adding asterisks to their name as i don't think they are a reliable source of information. But Dunk saying that it is OK to read it is just plain wrong. Koptalk is supposed to represent the fans and the person in charge says it is OK to read that rag. It just doesn't go together. As for it being free speech, of course they are entitled to read it if they want but they can't claim to be Liverpool fans in the same way as if they are wearing a Chelsea shirt.

rr
Trialist

30-05-06 12:53 PM – Post#211716
In response to Dj_Sydney_A

Sydney – if you've seen Liverpool fans reading the Sun, and you think you'll see them again, then you need to get onto the HJC or the HFSG and ask them for some stickers or leaflets. Or print some stuff of yourself. Then next time you see so-called Reds reading the rag pass them a leaflet. It won't hurt you and you might just make a difference.

Dunk
KopTalk Daddy

Age: 31
Loc: KOPTALK.COM
30-05-06 12:54 PM – Post#211722
In response to rr

People getted banned if they are abusive to others. Nobody gets banned for having an opinion, it's how they choose to share it.

I don't think anyone is suggesting there shouldn't be a boycott of the rag. But whatever peoples views it won't bring anyone back.

If Hillsborough hadn't have happened, The Sun would still be a shite rag. Look at how it alienated the firemen when they were on strike.

People who buy it are brain dead anyway. It's full of ******** and tits hence the reason it's so popular and why it sells so many copies.

Buy The Mirror and that'll hurt them!

 

Dj_Sydney_A
Crowd Control

Loc: Ryan O'Hare says "Sound"
30-05-06 12:56 PM – Post#211732
In response to rr

rr Said:
Sydney – if you've seen Liverpool fans reading the Sun, and you think you'll see them again, then you need to get onto the HJC or the HFSG and ask them for some stickers or leaflets. Or print some stuff of yourself. Then next time you see so-called Reds reading the rag pass them a leaflet. It won't hurt you and you might just make a difference.

That's a good shout mate.

I'll be honest and admit that when i make a stop on the 4 hour journey, i'm often just keen to get some food, have a piss and be on my merry way, such is how knackered i usually am. But it wouldnt take a minute to just hand someone a leaflet, you're right. Disclaimer: I reserve the right to disagree with you & consequently, to offend you. If I do disagree with you & offend you, the best course of action is to not cry about it. It's for the best.

 

Dunk
KopTalk Daddy

Age: 31
Loc: KOPTALK.COM
30-05-06 12:57 PM – Post#211735
In response to rr

rr Said:
Sydney – if you've seen Liverpool fans reading the Sun, and you think you'll see them again, then you need to get onto the HJC or the HFSG and ask them for some stickers or leaflets. Or print some stuff of yourself. Then next time you see so-called Reds reading the rag pass them a leaflet. It won't hurt you and you might just make a difference.

*** leaflets and posters. If I felt so strongly I'd burn their buildings down. That would satisfy me.

Anyway, how come nobody has ever taken MacKenzie out? I find it amazing one Red has never smacked him one.

If I'd have lost someone at HB, he'd have got a battering from me.

 

Dunk
KopTalk Daddy

Age: 31
Loc: KOPTALK.COM
30-05-06 12:59 PM – Post#211745
In response to Dj_Sydney_A

Dj_Sydney_A Said:

I'll be honest and admit that when i make a stop on the 4 hour journey, i'm often just keen to get some food, have a piss and be on my merry way, such is how knackered i usually am. But it wouldnt take a minute to just hand someone a leaflet, you're right.

Stick any leaflet in my face telling me how I should live my life be it to do with football or baking cakes and I'd smack you one. I suggest you think carefully because some numptie would probably knife you. Just a suggestion. I'd keep my opinions to myself unless it's clear the person is sound and willing to talk about something after a hard days graft.

 

rr
Trialist

30-05-06 01:00 PM – Post#211752
In response to Dunk

I think that it's easier for all if that rag's comments aren't posted anywhere by any LFC site. I find it hard enough seeing it mentioned on that BBC page or when Sky do a "What the papers say" piece, but I don't expect to see it on an LFC site.

For all its faults, the official site wouldn't quote something from that paper unless it was as an official response to something said that shouldn't have been said in the first place.

It would have been easy enough to skip that one line, for the sake of the majority of Liverpool fans.

Dj_Sydney_A
Crowd Control

Loc: Ryan O'Hare says "Sound"
30-05-06 01:02 PM – Post#211762
In response to Dunk

Dunk Said:

*** leaflets and posters. If I felt so strongly I'd burn their buildings down. That would satisfy me.

No one is asking someone to go to jail because of it. But educating people who may not know about what happened, via leaflets, poster or any other feasible method is a good idea IMO. Disclaimer: I reserve the right to disagree with you & consequently, to offend you. If I do disagree with you & offend you, the best course of action is to not cry about it. It's for the best.

 

Dj_Sydney_A
Crowd Control

Loc: Ryan O'Hare says "Sound"
30-05-06 01:04 PM – Post#211764
In response to Dunk

Dunk Said:

Stick any leaflet in my face telling me how I should live my life be it to do with football or baking cakes and I'd smack you one. I suggest you think carefully because some numptie would probably knife you. Just a suggestion. I'd keep my opinions to myself unless it's clear the person is sound and willing to talk about something after a hard days graft.

I'd be very surprised if someone got so offended, to the point of hitting someone or knifing them, just because they handed them a leaflet and said, "If you find a second and dont mind, just have a quick read of that please mate"…

Maybe things are different in the North East Disclaimer: I reserve the right to disagree with you & consequently, to offend you. If I do disagree with you & offend you, the best course of action is to not cry about it. It's for the best.

 

Dunk
KopTalk Daddy

Age: 31
Loc: KOPTALK.COM
30-05-06 01:06 PM – Post#211768
In response to rr

Nice sentiments mate but from what I've seen on this thread it's the minority that have a problem with something another Red was purely sharing.

There's plenty of plackard waving sites out there that will welcome you. KopTalk tries to be a bit more lighthearted. People don't want politics ramming down their throats.

The majority are aware of the Sun issues etc and are old enough to make their own minds up. There's no need for people to turn on someone just because they're opposed to their actions.

 

RiS
Trialist

30-05-06 01:07 PM – Post#211772
In response to Dunk

Dunk Said:

Stick any leaflet in my face telling me how I should live my life be it to do with football or baking cakes and I'd smack you one. I suggest you think carefully because some numptie would probably knife you. Just a suggestion. I'd keep my opinions to myself unless it's clear the person is sound and willing to talk about something after a hard days graft.

Fortunately, not all people are as quick to resort to violence as you seem to be. Maybe spreading a bit of awareness isn't a bad thing. You don't seem to be that sure where you stand on the issue. On the one hand it is really bad, but on the other if you want to do it, that's your business and everyone else can ******** off telling you how to live your life.
If I handed you a leaflet when you are reading The Sun and you smacked me one, I would drop you. But how would that solve anything?

Dunk
KopTalk Daddy

Age: 31
Loc: KOPTALK.COM
30-05-06 01:08 PM – Post#211773
In response to Dj_Sydney_A

Dj_Sydney_A Said:
Dunk Said:

*** leaflets and posters. If I felt so strongly I'd burn their buildings down. That would satisfy me.

No one is asking someone to go to jail because of it. But educating people who may not know about what happened, via leaflets, poster or any other feasible method is a good idea IMO.

Of course I agree but if I was so badly hurt I'd have to hunt MacKenzie down. I wouldn't torch the building like as he's not there any more.

Distributing leaflets is much more sensible, I suggest you get yourself out on the streets.

 

brendan
1st Team Player

Loc: London
30-05-06 01:08 PM – Post#211774
In response to Dunk

Quote:

Stick any leaflet in my face telling me how I should live my life be it to do with football or baking cakes and I'd smack you one.

I have a feeling that there's very little you don't know about baking cakes, big man.Liverpool strikers
Cisse (17):Prem (9), FA (2), Europe (6)
Lurch (11):Prem (8), FA (3), Europe (0)
Erik (9): Prem (5), FA (1), Europe (3)
Stats don't lie.

 

Dunk
KopTalk Daddy

Age: 31
Loc: KOPTALK.COM
30-05-06 01:10 PM – Post#211782
In response to RiS

RiS Said:

Fortunately, not all people are as quick to resort to violence as you seem to be. Maybe spreading a bit of awareness isn't a bad thing. You don't seem to be that sure where you stand on the issue. On the one hand it is really bad, but on the other if you want to do it, that's your business and everyone else can ******** off telling you how to live your life.
If I handed you a leaflet when you are reading The Sun and you smacked me one, I would drop you. But how would that solve anything?

You could try mate

What I'm trying to say is there's some real nasty people out there and not everyone is prepared to listen. I often find keeping your mouth shut is the best option if you want a trouble free life.

Spread awareness, the HJC do a great job in doing so but it aint gonna stop people like DJ making reference to a news snippet.

I know where I stand on the issue. I'd try and educate someone but at the same time it's really not up to me to tell someone how they should live their life.

Leave a Reply

